Coming Soon in March 2020. Our New Website, With New Features And Releases.

The Old Man And The Sea

Composer: Dimitri Tiomkin
Artists: Dimitri Tiomkin And His Orchestra
Cat No: FILMCD2001
Format: Audio CD (Stereo)

Series: Silver Classics
Recommended Retail Price (CD): £5.99
CD Available From:
Buy The Old Man And The Sea From
Free UK Delivery with Amazon Super Saver Delivery, subject to availability.
Delivery also available to international locations.Details

Download Available From:
The Old Man and the Sea - Dimitri Tiomkin
Based upon Ernest Hemingway's 1952 novel of the same name. (The novel was his final work published during his lifetime and also won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1953). The film centres on an old experienced Cuban fisherman (played by Spencer Tracy), who has been unable to the catch anything for the last 84 days.

The Old Man & The Sea was nominated for three Oscars, best actor for Spencer Tracy, Best Cinematography for James Wong Howe, while Dimitri Tiomkin won the award for Best Music, Scoring of a Dramatic or Comedy Picture.

In his autobiography, Dimitri Tiomkin wrote that he considers the score to be in style of a symphonic poem for concert. Tiomkin's lush score is ideally suited to the direction and photography of the film. It evokes Cuba through the use of Latin American rhythms and instruments, even without the visuals of the film.

Track Listing
1 The Old Man and the Sea
2 Cojimar Harbor and the Old Man
3 The Boy
4 Fishermen's Cantina
5 The Old Man Loved the Boy
6 The Fishermen's Lament
7 And the Old Man Rowed Out to the Ocean
8 The Old Man Catches His Bait
9 Sunset and Red Clouds
10 I Am Your Dream
11 A Small Bird Came Toward the Skiff
12 In the Tavern At Casa Blanca
13 Just Before It Was Dark
14 The Duel With the Fish
15 The Shark Fight
16 The Lost Fight
17 Cubana
18 Finale